You can cancel a transaction up to 30 days after a sale, even if your buyer has already paid. Some cancelled transactions may result in a defect and affect your seller performance level. The buyer will still be able to leave you feedback.
Cancel a transaction
You can cancel a transaction as long as:
- You haven’t sent the item yet
- The buyer hasn’t asked us to step in and help because they didn’t receive the item
- You haven’t opened an unpaid item case
You can cancel a transaction by selecting the button below. After you cancel, we’ll let the buyer know. If they’ve already paid, they’ll get a refund.
You can also cancel a transaction from Seller Hub; see the instructions below to find out how.
How to cancel a transaction in Seller Hub
You can cancel a transaction up to 30 days after a sale, even if your buyer has already paid.
What happens after you cancel a transaction
If you’re a managed payments seller, or if the buyer paid using PayPal, a full refund will be issued automatically.
If the buyer used another payment method, they will be asked to confirm that they received their refund before the cancellation is complete.
Once the buyer has been refunded, you’ll receive a final value fee credit.
If you’d like, you can learn more about how refunds work.
If a buyer asks you to cancel an order, they’ll need to send you a cancellation request.
Once you receive their request, you’ll have 3 days to approve or decline it. If you approve it and the buyer has already paid for the item, you have 10 days to refund them. If you haven’t refunded them within 10 days, they can open an item not received request through the eBay Money Back Guarantee.
When you refund a buyer after accepting their request to cancel a transaction, we’ll automatically relist your item for you. If you don’t want your item to be relisted, simply uncheck the Relist item after cancellation box when issuing the refund.
When a buyer cancels a transaction, they can’t leave negative or neutral feedback or low detailed seller ratings for you.
Getting a final value fee credit
To receive a final value fee credit, the cancellation must be completed.
If the buyer paid using PayPal or the payment was processed through managed payments, the refund is complete when their account is refunded. If they paid using any other method, the refund will be considered complete when they confirm they’ve received their money back.
We’ll credit the final value fee to your account 7 to 10 days after the cancellation request is complete. Learn more about final value fee credits.
If you’re a managed payments seller, we’ll usually refund your payments processing fees if you fully refund a buyer to resolve a refund, return, or cancellation request.