1 min article

Changing your username

Your username or user ID is the unique name you chose when you created your eBay account. It's the name other eBay members see when you're buying or selling with them.

You can change your username in the personal information - opens in new window or tab section of My eBay, or by selecting the button below.

Change your username - opens in new window or tab

You can only change your username once every 30 days. A change icon will appear next to your username for 30 days after you change it.

Tip
Keep in mind that if you change your username, your trading partners may not be able to find you as easily.

What happens when you change your username

  • Your new username automatically replaces your old username wherever it appears on eBay. All your member and account information, including your feedback score, will be transferred to your new username
  • Your old username can't be used by anyone else on eBay for 30 days
  • Along with your feedback profile, your username represents your reputation on eBay. Over time you can build your reputation into a valuable business asset, so it's a good idea to choose a username you'll want to use long-term
Was this article helpful for you?
Related help topics
Didn't find what you need?
Search eBay Help