Surrender [Expanded Edition] by Diana Ross (CD, Dec-2008, Hip-O Select)

Be the first to write a review

$13.09+ $2.99 Shipping
Brand New
Estimated Dec. 3 - Dec. 10
Sold by moviemars

About this product

Album Features
Artist:Diana Ross
Release Year:2008
Record Label:Hip-O Select
Genre:Motown, R&B

Track Listing
1. Surrender
2. I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel for You
3. Remember Me
4. And If You See Him
5. I'll Be There Reach out
6. Didn't You Know (You'd Have to Cry Sometime)?
7. A Simple Thing Like Cry
8. Did You Read the Morning Paper?
9. I'll Settle for You
10. I'm a Winner
11. All the Befores
12. I'm Still Waiting
13. Baby I'll Come - (previously unreleased)
14. remix, previously unreleased) Remember Me - ("Diana! " Vocal/Undubbed Stereo Mix
15. I'll Be There - (previously unreleased, alternate take) Reach out
16. alternate take) I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel for You - (previously unreleased
17. remix, previously unreleased, alternate take) Ain't No Mountain High Enough - (mix
18. remix, previously unreleased, alternate take) Remember Me - (mix
19. previously unreleased, alternate take) Surrender - (remix
20. Remember Me - (previously unreleased)

Producer:Valerie Simpson, Deke Richards, Nickolas Ashford, Andrew Skurow
Distributor:Universal Distribution
Recording Type:Studio
Recording Mode:Stereo
SPAR Code:n/a

Album Notes
Audio Mixer: Kevin Reeves.Liner Note Author: David Nathan.Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (1971); New York, NY (1971).Photographer: Harry Langdon.Arrangers: Gene Page; Paul Riser.SURRENDER was Diana Ross's third proper solo outing and was arguably the album that defined her as a solo artist operating on her own terms, finally free of the shadow of The Supremes' considerable legacy. While 1970's DIANA ROSS was a commercial and artistic triumph, it wasn't until SURRENDER that Ross began to forge the inimitable diva-ish persona that would define her in the minds of listeners for decades to come. The spare proto-disco title track with its menacing piano vamp and outsized chorus effectively provided a template for much of Ross's subsequent solo output, while her impassioned reading of the Four Tops' chestnut "Reach Out (I'll Be There)" reassured listeners who might have worried that Ross was abandoning the classic Motown sound. Fans need not have fretted, however, for, with SURRENDER, Ross, along with her gifted team of Motown producers and studio players, effectively defined the sound of Motown in the `70s.

No ratings or reviews yet
Be the first to write a review