Bulk by Jack Logan (Rock) (CD, Jun-1994, 2 Discs, Restless Records (USA))

Be the first to write a review

$4.18Free shipping
Very Good
Estimated Dec. 2 - Dec. 9
Sold by estocks_usa

About this product

Album Features
Artist:Jack Logan (Rock)
Release Year:1994
Record Label:Restless Records (USA)
Genre:Lo Fi, Rock & Pop
Number Of Discs:2

Track Listing
1. F*** Everything
2. Shrunken Head
3. Not Lunch Love
4. Female Jesus
5. Escape Clause
6. Underneath Your Bed
7. Just Go Away Baby
8. Lazy Girl Blues
9. Used Car and BBQ
10. Opposite Direction
11. 15 Years in Indiana
12. Heart Attack on the Prairie
13. Optimist
14. Voo Doo Doll
15. Chloroform
16. Vegetable Belt
17. Aloha-Ha
18. Sweetest Fruit
19. Lovely
20. Sometimes It's You
21. Monday Night
22. Tiny Town Giant City
23. Graves Are Fun to Dig
24. Floating Cowboy

1. Peace O'Mind
2. Shipbuilding Blues
3. The Parishioners
4. Would I Be Happy Then?
5. Farsighted
6. On the Beach
7. Yes I Can
8. Grey Steel Train
9. Drunken Arms
10. Bad Memories Good Times
11. S*** For Brains
12. Heaven on Earth
13. Idiot's Waltz
14. Terminal Gate
15. Weatherman
16. Tex
17. Cartoons
18. Town Crier

Playing Time:138 min.
Contributing Artists:Vic Chesnutt, Bob Kimbell
Producer:Peter Jesperson
Distributor:Ryko Distribution
Recording Type:Studio
Recording Mode:Stereo
SPAR Code:n/a

Album Notes
Personnel includes: Jack Logan (vocals, various instruments); Vic Chesnutt (vocals); Jeb Baldwin (acoustic & electric guitars, lap steel, organ, bass); Rob Veal (acoustic & slide guitars, mandolin, bass, drums, percussion, background vocals); Kelly Keneipp (acoustic & electric guitars, violin, piano, keyboards, bass, handclaps, background vocals); Dave Philips (acoustic & electric guitars, bass, spoons, background vocals);, Terry Rouch (guitar, bass, tambourine, handclaps, maracas, background vocals); Todd McBride (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Eric Sales (violin, bass, background vocals); Bob Kimball (keyboards); Steve Cobb (drums, bongos); The Loganaires (background vocals).Engineers include: Jeb Baldwin, Jamie Rouch, Jeb Baldwin.Includes liner notes by Peter Jesperson.This may be the most appropriately titled release to ever come down the pike. Consisting of forty-two songs that were recorded over a nine-year span, BULK is a lengthy volume of a life's work. That a songwriter of Jack Logan's stature has been carefully crafting these wistful and evocative short story sketches since at least 1985 without an ounce of industry interest, is a testament ot the laziness of many A&R people; that Logan diligently recorded nearly every take of most compositions for his personal library, gives the home-recording, lo-fi-sound boom of the mid-'90s a touch of historical depth (the booklet even includes photos of homes at which most of these "sessions" took place).Though his mind often wanders like a good songwriter's mind should, there is a thematic thread weaving through much of Logan's work. Many songs hint at a lower middle class existence...or worse. Criminals, hapless lovers, the physically and psychologically lost, as well as the wild and the innocent, all roll by with a touch of Neil Young candor and grace, but lacking Neil's all-encompassing majesty. Musically, whether with his various "enablers" or his semi-regular band the Dashboard Saviours, Logan sticks to the roots. Yet amongst all the skilled blues and country licks, and folk melodies that fill up BULK, there are plenty of rowdy digressions into an early-Replacements brand of fake hard-core. And when Jack Logan's mind wanders off the deep end, the listener gets treated to irreplaceable one-offs such as "Aloha-Ha," possibly the only hula-melodied, escapist outlaw tale every written.

No ratings or reviews yet
Be the first to write a review