|

Picture Information

FRAN-LEBOWITZ-METROPOLITAN-LIFE-SOCIAL-STUDIES-ED-7L
Image not available
Have one to sell? Sell now

Details about  FRAN LEBOWITZ METROPOLITAN LIFE SOCIAL STUDIES ED. 7L

FRAN LEBOWITZ METROPOLITAN LIFE SOCIAL STUDIES ED. 7L

Seller information

100% Positive feedback
Visit store:
Drawstring Depot
See other items

Item Information

Item condition:
Brand New
Price:
US $289.99
Best Offer:
 
Make Offer
Loading...
Resume making your offer, if the page does not update immediately.
 
2 watching
 
New condition
100% positive feedback
Best offer available
Shipping:
$11.28 Standard Shipping | See details
 
Item location:
Harrison, New Jersey, United States
 
Ships to:
Worldwide See exclusions
Delivery:
Estimated on or before Mon. Apr. 06 to 07095  help icon for Estimated delivery date - opens a layer
Payments:
PayPal Visa/MasterCard, Amex, Discover
Credit Cards processed by PayPal
PayPal Credit
See payment details
Any international shipping and import charges are paid in part to Pitney Bowes Inc. Learn More- opens in a new window or tab
Returns:
Seller does not offer returns. You are covered by the eBay Money Back Guarantee - opens in a new window or tab if you received an item that is not as described in the listing.
Guarantee:
 | See details - opens in a new window or tab
Get the item you ordered or get your money back.
Covers your purchase price and original shipping.

People who viewed this item also viewedFeedback on our suggestions

eBay item number:
220710030378
Seller assumes all responsibility for this listing.
Last updated on  Dec 17, 2013 20:39:40 PST  View all revisions

Item specifics

Condition:
Brand New: A new, unread, unused book in perfect condition with no missing or damaged pages. See the seller’s ... Read moreabout the condition
ISBN-10: 3882439335
Format: Book, Trade Cloth ISBN-13:

9783882439335

Publication Year: 2003 Author: Fran Lebowitz
Language: English ISBN:

9783882439335

Detailed item info

Synopsis
From the pen of Fran Lebowitz: "Special-interest publications should realize that if they are attracting enough advertising and readers to make a profit, the interest is not so special." "The opposite of talking isn't listening. The opposite of talking is waiting." "Humility is no substitute for a good personality." "When you leave New York, you are astonished at how clean the rest of the world is. Clean is not enough." "If you are of the opinion that the contemplation of suicide is sufficient evidence of a poetic nature, do not forget that actions speak louder than words." "I do not believe in God. I believe in cashmere." From a woman who considers herself a lazy writer and who once said, "Your life story would not make a good book. Don't even try," comes this new volume, which brings back into print two of her most celebrated collections of essays. Written in the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Fran Lebowitz's hilariously acerbic Metropolitan Lifeand Social Studiesare classics of their genre. In them Lebowitz does what she does best, caustically portraying the vicissitudes of contemporary urban life--its fads, trends, crazes, morals and fashions. By turns ironic, facetious, deadpan, sarcastic, wry, wisecracking and waggish, she is always wickedly entertaining.

Product Identifiers
ISBN-103882439335
ISBN-139783882439335

Key Details
AuthorFran Lebowitz
Number Of Pages352 pages
FormatHardcover
Publication Date2003-11-02
LanguageEnglish
PublisherSteidl Druckerei und Verlag, Gerhard

Additional Details
Number of Volumes1 vol.
Copyright Date2003
IllustratedYes

Dimensions
Weight22.9 Oz
Width5 In.
Length8 In.

Target Audience
GroupTrade

Classification Method
LC Classification NumberF128.55
Dewey Decimal974.7/1
Dewey Edition21

Contributors
Foreword byKarl Lagerfeld

Certain data records © 2015 Bowker. Rights in cover images reserved by owners.

Drawstring Depot

100%
Visit Store:   Drawstring Depot

METROPOLITAN LIFE/SOCIAL STUDIES

For your consideration is a brand new, unopened, and sealed in its original plastic shrink-wrap, FRAN LEBOWITZ METROPOLITAN LIFE/SOCIAL STUDIES boxed set.  This was published by 7L/Steidl in Germany in a limited-edition of 1500 books in 2003. This is very hard to find (this is the only other new one available on the net) and currently retails for $595 in new condition on Amazon.com - click to view (UPDATE:  that one was purchased on amazon - THIS IS NOW THE ONLY AVAILABLE COPY OF THIS BOOK ON THE INTERNET).  I am offering this book to you at a significantly lower price.  According to Steidl's website:

This publication brings together two celebrated books by Fran Lebowitz, Metropolitan Life and Social Studies, which have been out of print for a long time. These collections of essays in the tradition of Dorothy Parker are classics of their genre. Lebowitz portrays the vicissitudes of contemporary urban life — its fads, trends, crazes, morals, and fashions. By turns ironic, facetious, deadpan, sarcastic, wry, wisecracking and waggish, she is always wickedly entertaining. Fran Lebowitz' sense of humour is still very much appreciated — just check the quotation pages on the internet.

Please note: I noticed in the photos below the item may appear scratched or banged-up, but I assure you this is only the plastic shrink wrap and not the item itself, which is in ABSOLUTELY PERFECT, MINT, UNBLEMISHED condition.  ISBN #3-88243-933-5; SKU #9783882439335

The fine print:  Please ask any questions before bidding or purchasing. All items come from a smoke-free, pet-free home. International Shipping is available - please email for a quote. Payment must be received in 7 days. I do not ship to China. All sales final.


   





Questions and answers about this item

No questions or answers have been posted about this item.




01203
Seller assumes all responsibility for this listing.

Shipping and handling

Save on shipping. This seller offers shipping discounts on combined purchases for eligible items.
Item location: Harrison, New Jersey, United States
Shipping to: Worldwide
Excludes: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan Republic, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Iraq, Mexico, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine, Angola, Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Congo, Republic of the, Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Bolivia, Brazil, Paraguay, Venezuela

Return policy

Return policy details
Seller does not offer returns. You are covered by the eBay Money Back Guarantee - opens in a new window or tab if you received an item that is not as described in the listing.

Payment details

Payment method Preferred / Accepted  
Credit or debit card through PayPal
PayPal Preferred
 
Put time on your side.
Choose PayPal Credit to pay for your purchase when it's right for you.
The choice is yours. PayPal Credit gives you the flexibility to pay for your purchases now or over time with one of our special financing offers. Please note, if your purchase qualifies for a special financing offer:
Interest will be charged on your account from the posting date (which is usually within a few days after the purchase date) if the purchase balance is not paid in full within financing period. Subject to credit approval. See terms - opens in a new window or tab
 

Seller's payment instructions

I am happy to ship worldwide, so please email me for an international shipping quote. Payment MUST be received within 7 days of auction's end. I do ship items out every business day (M-F); check out my ABOUT ME page to determine precisely when item will ship.
Current bid amount
+
time left | Bid Count

Current Max Bid:
Your bid amount:
Calculating import charges...
Choose a max bid >Help button.Click to expand the details about Quick bid?
Get your bid out there fast with a quick bid.
Remember, you only pay the amount needed to win, which could be less than the quick bid amount. Learn More - opens in a new window or tab
Approx.
Approx.
Approx.

OR

What's a max bid?
Your max bid should be the highest amount you're willing to pay for an item.
We keep your max bid amount a secret from the seller and other bidders.
Max bidding example:
If a current bid is $20 and your max bid is $30, we bid $21 for you.
If no one else bids, you win and pay $21.
However, if someone else places a bid for $35, we only bid up to your $30 max bid.
By placing a bid, you're committing to buy this item if you win.
By submitting your bid, you are committing to buy this item from the seller if you are the winning bidder. You have read and agree to the Global Shipping Program terms and conditions - opens in a new window or tab. Import charges previously quoted are subject to change if you increase you maximum bid amount.
By clicking Confirm, you commit to buy this item from the seller if you are the winning bidder.
By clicking Confirm, you are committing to buy this item from the seller if you are the winning bidder and have read and agree to the Global Shipping Program terms and conditions - opens in a new window or tab. Import charges previously quoted are subject to change if you increase you maximum bid amount.
Loading...
Bid layer is updating the contents.
Resume bidding, if the page does not update immediately.
d
h
m
s
day
hour
hours
FREE shipping
See item description
+ See item description for shipping
Approximately:
(Enter ##1## or more)
(Enter more than ##1##)
Your max bid:
You've been outbid. Don't let it get away - place another bid.
You've been outbid by an automatic bid placed earlier by another bidder.
You're the highest bidder on this item!
You're the first bidder on this item!
You're the highest bidder on this item, but you're close to being outbid.
This auction is almost over and you're currently the high bidder.
You're the high bidder on this item, but the reserve price hasn't been met yet.
You've been outbid by someone else.
You can still win! Try bidding again.
You've been outbid by someone else's max bid.
You can still win! Try bidding again.
Your bid wasn't accepted because it's the same as someone else's bid.
Try raising your max bid.
You're the highest bidder!
To increase your chances of winning, try raising your bid.
You're the first bidder. Good Luck!
You're still the highest bidder!
You increased your max bid to
Please enter your bid again.
Enter a valid amount for your bid.
Enter a bid that is the minimum bid amount or higher.
You have to bid at least
Sorry, you can't lower your maximum bid once it's placed.
This seller requires the buyer to have a PayPal account to purchase this item. Get a PayPal account here .
Your bid is the same as or more than the Buy It Now price.You can save time and money by buying it now.
Place bid
Review and confirm your bid
Bid confirmation
Increase max bid
Enter a custom max bid more than ##2##
Enter a custom max bid of ##2## or more
+ ##2## approximate import charges
##2## (approximately)
Please enter a higher amount than the current bid.
+ ##2## for shipping
+ FREE SHIPPING
Bid ##3## now
Bid ##3##
Time left:
Current bid:
(approximately ##1##)
Your maximum bid:
(approximately ##1##)
Increase your maximum bid:
By clicking 1 Click Bid, you commit to buy this item from the seller if you're the winning bidder. Learn moreabout 1-click bid - opens in a new window or tab
day
hour
min
sec
days
hours
mins
secs
(approximately ##1##)
Winning bid:
Starting bid:
Close
Congrats! The auction has ended and you're the winner.
The auction has ended, but the reserve price was not met.
Sorry, the auction has ended and you were outbid.
Good news, you're the high bidder.
Sorry, you've been outbid.
You're the high bidder, but the reserve price is not met.
Please enter a higher amount than the current bid.
Maximum bids cannot be lowered once submitted.
Please enter a valid number.