Easton Press Guide to Books by Charles Dickens

By Published by
Easton Press Guide to Books by Charles Dickens
. Views . Comments Comment . 23 Votes

This is a guide for books by Charles Dickens from Easton Press.  Easton Press originally printed 21 books for the Charles Dickens series.  They decided to change the artwork and eliminate the 5 lowest selling volumes from the series.  The "Christmas" collection has been changed during the years.  The books were then renumbered starting with Oliver Twist as book #22 and going in numerical order to Hard Times as book #37.  The original artwork was changed around 2000 to the new style.  Easton Press also change all Charles Dickens books from the 100 Greatest Series at the same time to the new artwork.  Prior to the change, each book in the 100 Greatest Series had different artwork from each other and the artwork did not mach the Charles Dickens Library artwork. 

Financial Tips
Natuarally the five discountinued books are the most valuable from this series since they are no longer printed.  There is a slight preference in the market for the original artwork, but not enough to make much of a difference.

Easton Press offers an incentive to get started collecting the series, but you have to ask for the discount and be sure you are given the discount since it will not be credited to your account automatically.  The 100 Greatest Books are much cheaper than the Charles Dickens series.  One is much better off buying Charles Dickens books from the 100 Greatest series first and then calling customer service the purchase the remaining titles from the Charles Dickens series.

Original Artwork

Current/New Artwork

1)   Oliver Twist
2)   Christmas Novels
3)   Bleak House
4)   Edwin Drood
5)   Nicolas Nickleby
6)   Barnaby Rudge
7)   Dombey & Sons
8)   Little Dorrit
9)   Martin Chuzzlewit
10) Our Mutual Friend
11) Great Expectations
12) A Tale of Two Cities
13) David Copperfield
14) The Pickwick Papers
15) Old Curiosity Shop
16) Hard Times
17) Sketches by Boz
18) Christmas Stories

21 Stories, including:
A Christmas Tree
What Christmas Is As We Grow Older
The Poor Relation's Story
The Child's Story
The Schoolboy's Story
Nobody's Story
The Seven Poor Travellers
The Holly-Tree
The Wreck of the Golden Mary
The Perils of Certain English Prisoners
Going Into Society
The Haunted House
A Message From the Sea
Tom Tiddler's Ground
Somebody's Luggage
Mrs. Lirriper's Lodgings
Mrs. Lirriper's Legacy
Doctor Marigold
Mugby Junction
No Thoroughfare
The Lazy Tour of Two Idle Apprentices

19) Papers, Plays, Poems
20) American Notes
21) Master Humphrey's Clock
22) A Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol
The Haunted Man
The Cricket on the Hearth
The Battle of Life
The Chimes

Explore More
Choose a template