• Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
Check Your Head [Remastered Edition] [PA...
Photo contributed by #M#.This product photo was contributed by the community member attributed here.
Check Yo...
Tell us what you think

Check Your Head [Remastered Edition] [PA] by Beastie Boys (CD, Apr-2009, 2 Discs, Capitol/Grand Royal)

Best Match
  • Time: ending soonest
  • Time: newly listed
  • Price + Shipping: lowest first
  • Price + Shipping: highest first
  • Price: highest first
  • Distance: nearest first
  • Best Match
Product description
Album Features
Artist:Beastie Boys
Release Year:2009
Record Label:Capitol/Grand Royal
Genre:Alternative, Rock & Pop
Number Of Discs:2

Track Listing
1. Jimmy James
2. Funky Boss
3. Pass the Mic
4. Gratitude
5. Lighten Up
6. Finger Lickin' Good
7. So What'cha Want
8. The Biz vs. The Nuge
9. Time for Livin'
10. Something's Got to Give
11. The Blue Nun
12. Stand Together
13. Pow
14. The Maestro
15. Groove Holmes
16. Live at P.J.'s
17. Mark on the Bus
18. Professor Booty
19. In 3's
20. Namast‚

1. Dub the Mic
2. Pt. 2: Skills to Pay the Bills Pass the Mic
3. Drunken Praying Mantis Style
4. Netty's Girl
5. The Skills To Pay The Bills [Original Version]
6. remix) So What'cha Want [Soul Assassin Remix Version] - (Soul Assassin Remix Version
7. So What'cha Want [Butt Naked Version]
8. Groove Holmes [Live vs. The Biz] - (live)
9. So What'cha Want [All The Way Live Freestyle Version] - (All the Way Live Freestyle Version mix)
10. Sydney, Australia] - (live) Stand Together [Live at French's Tavern
11. Finger Lickin' Good [Government Cheese Remix] - (remix)
12. Gratitude [Live At Budokan] - (live)
13. Honky Rink
14. Jimmy James [Original Original Version]
15. Boomin' Granny
16. Drinkin' Wine

Playing Time:53 min.
Producer:Mario Jr. Caldaro
Recording Type:Studio
Recording Mode:Stereo
SPAR Code:n/a

Album Notes
The Beastie Boys: Adrock (vocals, guitar); MCA (vocals, bass); Mike D (vocals, drums).Additional personnel: Mark Ramos Nishita (keyboards); Sian Harwood (background vocals), Biz Markie.Recorded at G-Son Studios, Atwater Village, California.A marked improvement over the deluxe reissue of PAUL'S BOUTIQUE, this double-disc (or four-LP) set also befits the usual overstuffed retrospective more naturally, given the original CHECK YOUR HEAD's immersion in several styles. The 16 songs of bonus material feature familiar B-sides ((like "Drinkin' Wine"), live tracks, and instrumentals. Bute alternate versions of classic tracks (including two remixes and a live version of "So What'cha Want") are even more revealing, inspiring admiration for both HEAD's wide-openness for interpretation and its effectiveness as a stripped-down jam session. The original release, remastered or not, holds up as a bridge between the beat-and-sample mashing of old school hip-hop and the genre's alterna-esoteric future, a testament to how the Beasties defined each end of the spectrum.Personnel: Nax Setevassac (vocals); Ad-Rock (guitar); James Bradley, Jr. (tamboura, congas, bata, cuica, mradangam); Drew Lawrence (tamboura, mradangam); Mark "Money Mark" Ramos-Nishita (Clavinet, organ, Wurlitzer organ); Mike D (drums); Juanito Vazquez (congas, cuica); Art Oliva (bata).Audio Remasterer: Chris Athens.Audio Remixer: Muggs.Recording information: G-Son Studios, Atwater Village, CA.Photographer: Val Gelineau.Some albums define an era, a place, a certain time in one's life; they exist as soundtracks for our memories, bringing that extra scent of poignancy to them. CHECK YOUR HEAD practically defined the summer of 1992 for those who were wary of the mainstreaming of rap and somewhat bored by the insurgency of grunge. By holding their heads firmly outside of any particular musical genre, MCA, Adrock & Mike D. created their own space; distorted, fuzzy, peppered with the swagger of punk and the rootsy earthiness of early-'70s soul-jazz, and layered with ten years of hip-hop know-how.From the opening chords of "Jimmy James," it's clear that the Beastie Boys would have a chance to permanently shed the label of "fratboy rappers" that LICENSED TO ILL had forced upon them. Lo-fi, garagy, guitar-riff-loaded tracks like "Pass Da Mic" and "Gratitude" made it clear that the Beastie Boys could be taken as serious musical forces, even innovators. Yet they could still call back on their silly selves for romps like "Professor Booty" and "Funky Boss." One of the best albums of the 90's, CHECK YOUR HEAD is a turning point for a band and the genesis of a new musical hybrid.

eBay Product ID: EPID71849771
Portions of this page Copyright 1948 - 2014 Muze Inc. All rights reserved.

Reviews & Research

Customer Reviews

Average review score based on 3 user reviews


of customers recommend this product

Rating distributions

Created: 05/18/09

it's EXCITING!! It POPS like never before.

This Remastered double CD of The Beastie Boys: Check Your Head album is EXCELLENT!! If you caught a certain unexplainable feeling of excitement about the Check Your Head album when it first came out, then be prepared to RELIVE that certain feeling all over again FRESH!! Roll down the windows in your car on a nice sunny day and crank this CD up!! The "bonus CD is where you want to start when listening..it's like Check Your Head is coming out for the first time.. that feeling... Then when you are done with or about half way thru the "bonus" CD then pop on the Remastered CD.. and you will definitely notice a difference from the original Production wise.. it's EXCITING!! It POPS like never before. This is an absolute MUST own CD for anyone who thinks the original Check Your Head album is without a doubt the best Beastie Boys album. It is definitely worth buying. I spent just under $20 for it and it is worth every penny!! The only thing missing from this is a 3rd CD they could have included with all the other versions of Jimmy James from the Jimmy James 12' record.. but it's still AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Created: 03/09/12

my dream came true !

Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.

the album + compilation is wonderful ! the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !the album + compilation is wonderful !

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Created: 04/10/10

Check Your Head [PA] Beastie Boys

SICK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!​!!!!!!!!! A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++​++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Bubble Opens Help Start of layer
Bubble Help End of layer