• Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
All of Me [Remaster] by Johnny Hartman (...
Photo contributed by #M#.This product photo was contributed by the community member attributed here.
All of M...
Tell us what you think

All of Me [Remaster] by Johnny Hartman (CD, Aug-2000, Rhino/Warner Bros. (Label))

Price + Shipping: lowest first
  • Time: ending soonest
  • Time: newly listed
  • Price + Shipping: lowest first
  • Price + Shipping: highest first
  • Price: highest first
  • Distance: nearest first
  • Best Match
Product description
Album Features
Artist:Johnny Hartman
Release Year:2000
Record Label:Rhino/Warner Bros. (Label)
Genre:Classic Pop Vocals, Pop Vocal

Track Listing
1. Blue Skies - (take 2)
2. I Could Make You Care
3. Tenderly
4. The Lamp Is Low
5. While We're Young
6. Birth of the Blues - (take 2)
7. I'll Follow You
8. I Concentrate on You
9. Stella by Starlight
10. I Get a Kick Out of You - (take 3)
11. The End of a Love Affair
12. All of Me - (take 2)
13. alternate take 13) Blue Skies - (Take 13
14. alternate take 2) I Get a Kick Out of You - (Take 2
15. alternate take 1) Birth of the Blues - (Take 1
16. alternate take 3) All of Me - (Take 3

Playing Time:38 min.
Contributing Artists:Milt Hinton, Hank Jones, Jerome Richardson, Osie Johnson, Howard McGhee, Lucky Thompson
Distributor:WEA (Distributor)
Recording Type:Studio
Recording Mode:Stereo
SPAR Code:n/a

Album Notes
Personnel: Johnny Hartman (vocals); Frank Hunter (conductor); Tony Ortega (alto saxophone); Jerome Richardson (tenor saxophone, flute); Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone); Danny Bank (baritone saxophone); Ernie Royal, Howard McGhee (trumpet); Frank Rehak (trombone); Hank Jones (piano); Milt Hinton (bass); Osie Johnson (drums); Bethlehem Orchestra.Recorded in New York, New York in November 1956. Includes liner notes by Joe Quinn and Joseph F. Laredo.Digitally remastered by Tom Moulton and Greg Vaughn (Frankford Wayne Mastering Labs, New York, New York).Personnel: Johnny Hartman (vocals); Jerome Richardson (flute, tenor saxophone); Tony Ortega, Anthony Ortega (alto saxophone); Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone); Danny Bank (baritone saxophone); Ernie Royal, Howard McGhee (trumpet); Frank Rehak (trombone); Hank Jones (piano); Osie Johnson (drums).Liner Note Author: Joe Quinn .Arranger: Frank Hunter.For most jazz fans, the name Johnny Hartman is eternally linked to that of John Coltrane. That's because few collaborations between singer and instrumentalist have evr had the impact of their legendary Impulse! session. In fact, Coltrane felt that Hartman's voice most closely resembled his sound on the tenor saxophone.Still, for this great Chicago-born baritone (1929-1983), there was life before and after Trane. In some ways, his career paralleled that of another great jazz baritone and heartthrob--Billy Eckstine. Hartman, too, served an apprenticeship with the Earl Hines Orchestra, and between 1947 and '49 was the featured vocalist with the Dizzy Gillespie Big Band, before going out on his own, recording dates for Savoy, RCA and Mercury.Fans of JOHN COLTRANE AND JOHNNY HARTMAN will be pleasantly surprised by ALL OF ME, on which Hartman demonstrates his rich sonority, supple beat and elegant flair for big band charts. The album makes a convincing case for Hartman as both pop crooner and jazz swinger. Listen to the way he elongates the word "eternity" and then mentholates the final phrases of "I'll Follow You." Strings and oboe toll away mysteriously during his rich, romantic reading of the bridge to "I Concentrate On You"--you can practically see the red wine and checkered tablecloth through the candlelight. And the relaxed grace of his rhythmic paraphrases on "I Get A Kick Out Of You," "All Of Me" and "Blue Skies" betray a Basie-esque sense of phrasing worthy of the great Joe Williams.

eBay Product ID: EPID3418897
Portions of this page Copyright 1948 - 2014 Muze Inc. All rights reserved.

Reviews & Research

Bubble Opens Help Start of layer
Bubble Help End of layer